Hyundai Elantra N Back On Track For 2022

January 19th, 2022 by

Bryan Herta Motorsport Hyundai Elantra N IMSA Michelin Pilot Challenge

Motorsports season is almost here!

The true test of any vehicle is how it performs in competition. That is why Hyundai is proud to return to the IMSA Michelin Pilot Challenge for 2022 with Bryan Herta Autosport and Curb Agajanian to defend its titles in the Touring Car Racing class.

This season will see six entrants running Hyundai Elantra N TCR race cars. They will be led by reigning driver champions Taylor Hagler and Michael Lewis in their Number 1 Elantra N TCR. Hagler made history last year as the first woman to win the racing series. The next goal is to repeat as both constructor and driver champions in 2022.

Joining Hagler and Lewis on the Herta team is the Number 2 Elantra N is Ryan Norman and AJ Muss. Norman piloted the new Elantra N TCR to the winner’s circle at last year’s Mid-Ohio race – his hometown racecourse.

Mark Wilkins will drive the Number 33 Elantra N TCR with INDYCAR star Robert Wickens. Wickens returns to racing after a terrible accident three years ago and will be using hand controls in their race car.

Robert Wickens Michael Johnson Bryan Herta Motorsport Hyundai IMSA

Michael Johnson and Stephen Simpson will be behind the wheel of the Number 54 Universal Coating Elantra N TCR. Johnson also uses hand controls to run the Elantra N TCR on the track.

Mason Filippi will share duties in the Number 77 Elantra N TCR with Tyler Maxson, while Parker Chase will run with Harry Gottsacker in the Number 98 Elantra N TCR.

All six teams will participate in the “Roar Before the Rolex 24” at Daytona International Speedway, January 21-23. The next weekend sees these same teams take to the track again in a four-hour race du on Friday, January 28 at Daytona.

There is nothing like seeing your favorite team win. We wish these teams good luck in defending their titles in the IMSA Michelin Pilot Challenge circuit.

In the meantime, contact us at Hyundai of Mankato to order your own Elantra N. Take home your own championship car soon!